Dangerous Goods Codes

Dangerous Goods Codes

Dangerous Goods Codes

Dangerous goods classes

As mentioned above, the UN uses Model Regulations to classify dangerous goods into 9 different classes, according to their level of danger based on their nature.

Below, we will go through each of them with the intention of helping you to quickly detect where your products could be classified, should you wish to transport them:


CLASS 1: Explosives

Dangerous goods classified as explosive have a molecular composition that is formulated in such a way that they change rapidly from a solid to a gaseous state, at very high temperature, generating a sudden and violent impact.

Despite having this quality, the way in which these products are manufactured ensures their stability as long as they are not subjected to strong collisions or stimulating factors such as a flame.


CLASS 2: Gases

Gases also represent a clear danger to health and the environment if proper precautions are not taken when transporting them.

These goods are transported at high pressure, in a liquid state, to reduce their volume and make the most of the space, being able to move more at once.


CLASS 3: Flammable liquids

Flammable liquids may come from petroleum products, from an industrial or natural process.

The importance of flammable liquids lies in several areas essential to mankind, such as the fuel needed for land, sea and air vehicles.

In addition to other materials and components for development or personal comfort such as paints, inks, adhesives, among others.


CLASS 4: Flammable solids

These are all materials that burn easily, even faster than other fuels of organic origin.

They emit a lot of heat and burn suddenly, generating toxic gases and vapours.

Also included in this class are any liquids or solids which, when in contact with oxygen, burn immediately, or when in contact with water produce a flammable gas which could ignite.


CLASS 5: Oxidising substances

Dangerous goods classified as oxidising substances are further divided into two groups: oxidising substances and organic peroxides.

Oxidising substances have a high oxygen content and react with combustible and flammable elements. They do not depend on conventional oxygen to burn, as their composition supplies their own oxygen to keep them burning.

Organic peroxides are all those materials that contain organic carbon and peroxide in their properties. These, when combined with oxygen, can burn independently.

They are characterised by the fact that they are extremely harmful to human health.


CLASS 6: Toxic and infectious substances

Toxic substances are chemical poisons that are harmful to the human organism. They must be prevented from entering our organism, either topically (through the skin), respiratory or digestive (by ingesting them through the mouth or nose).

CLASS 6 hazardous substances contain micro-organisms that cause infectious diseases, a direct risk to humans and animals because of their pathogens.


CLASS 7: Radioactive material

Any material that emits radiation that affects and damages the human body in any way falls under CLASS 7.

Being a high-level dangerous goods, packaging and transport care must be handled according to very high safety standards.


CLASS 8: Corrosives

Corrosive materials are highly reactive when in contact with objects and skin, destroying tissue and causing irreversible changes. They are made up of acids and require special handling depending on their ability to damage materials.


CLASS 9: Hazardous materials in general

This CLASS 9 includes all materials that represent a risk to human health, the environment and transport itself, but are not classified in any of the other classes.